top of page


Operations Centre, Brackley NN13 7BD

British American Racing, abbreviated as BAR, was a Formula One constructor that competed in the sport from 1999 to 2005. BAR began by acquiring Tyrrell, and used Supertec engines for their first year. Subsequently, they formed a partnership with Honda which lasted for the next six years.

The team was named after British American Tobacco plc (BAT), which owned and sponsored it in order to display its Lucky Strike and 555 brands. The headquarters were in Brackley, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom.


In mid-November 2004, Japanese automobile manufacturer Honda purchased 45% of the team, and in September 2005, purchased the remaining 55% share to become the sole owner. Consequently, BAR Honda became Honda Racing F1 Team for the 2006 Formula One season. BAT continued as title sponsor with the Lucky Strike brand, but due to new tobacco advertising regulations worldwide, pulled its sponsorship from Formula One entirely at the end of the 2006 season.


Honda ran the team for the 2006, 2007 and 2008 seasons. During 2008, the Honda RA109 was being developed for the following year while Honda attempted to sell the team. A management buy-out by team principal Ross Brawn and an engine supply deal with Mercedes-Benz resulted in a remarkable 2009 season in which Brawn GP team won the Constructors' Championship with Jenson Button winning the Drivers' Championship. Mercedes bought the team in November 2009 and since January 2010, the team competes as Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team.


* Jenson Button

* Takuma Sato

* Jacques Villeneuve

* Anthony Davidson


B.A.R's Home in Brackley, Northamptonshire is now the home of the Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team, after being the home of Honda and Brawn between 2006-2009. 

For all Your BAR HONDA Formula1™ Models, Teamwear and artwork check out here

bottom of page