Arrows / Footwork F1™

39 Barton Road Water Baton Industrial Estate Bletchley Milton Keynes Bucks, MK2 3HW.

The Arrows Grand Prix International team was founded in Milton Keynes, England in November 1977, by Italian businessman Franco Ambrosio, Alan Rees, Jackie Oliver, Dave Wass and Tony Southgate (the team deriving its name from the initials of their surnames) when they left the Shadow team. The team was formed and appeared on the grid for their first race at the 1978 Brazilian Grand Prix, all within three months.

Arrows signed Gunnar Nilsson and Riccardo Patrese to drive, but Nilsson had been diagnosed with cancer shortly afterwards. His failing health caused Rolf Stommelen to take his place. The team initially ran a copy of the Shadow DN9, with the initials of the team's first sponsor, Franco Ambrosio, used in naming the car, the Arrows FA1. However, Ambrosio left the team in early 1978 when jailed in Italy for financial irregularities and main sponsor became Warsteiner. Shadow sued for copyright infringement, and the London High Courts ruled that the FA1 was a direct copy of the Shadow DN9. Arrows knew that they would lose the case and designed a brand new car, the Arrows A1, in 52 days. It was shown the day after the High Court of Justice in London upheld Shadow's claim and banned the team from racing the FA1.


Japanese businessman Wataru Ohashi, who was the president of Footwork Express Co., Ltd., a Japanese logistics company, began investing heavily in the Arrows team in 1990, the deal including requiring the cars to display the Footwork logo prominently. The team was officially renamed Footwork in 1991, and secured a deal to race with Porsche engines. Results were poorer than expected, and after just six races, Footwork dropped the Porsche engines and continued with Hart-built Ford engines.

For the 1992 season they switched engine supplier to Mugen. Arrows retained the Footwork name until Ohashi withdrew his financial backing before the 1996 season, whereupon the name of the team reverted to Arrows. Regardless, Jackie Oliver had retained operational control throughout the entire period.





* Riccardo Patrese

* Jochen Mass

* Marc Surer

* Alan Jones

* Thierry Boutsen

* Derek Warwick

* Michele Alboreto

* Jos Verstappen

* Damon Hill


Once home to the Arrows/Footwork Formula1™ team, and factory - now sits a Storage firm, with no signs of the former team identifiable by the local area.

For all Your ARROWS / Footwork Formula1™ Models, Teamwear and artwork check out here

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon


  • White Twitter Icon


About Us

Your Home for Formula1™ Models, Teamwear and Artwork, Online and Instore - our retail store is a one stop shop for all things F1, including a 1/2 F1™ Motion Simulator to test and challenge your F1™ Driving skills


Read More


Share Your F1 History 

© 70 years and More F1 History. Proudly created By FMS with

  • White Facebook Icon