top of page

Benetton F1™ 

Whiteways Technical Centre, Enstone, Oxfordshire, OXY 4EE


Benetton Formula Ltd., commonly referred to simply as Benetton, was a Formula One constructor that participated from 1986 to 2001. The team was owned by the Benetton family who run a worldwide chain of clothing stores of the same name. In 2000, the team was purchased by Renault, but competed as Benetton for the 2000 and 2001 seasons. In 2002, the team became Renault F1. The Benetton Formula team was chaired by Alessandro Benetton from 1988 to 1998.


The Benetton Group entered Formula One as a sponsor company for Tyrrell in 1983, then Alfa Romeo in 1984 and 1985 and finally Toleman in 1985. Toleman had struggled in 1985, missing the first three races of the season and being forced to only enter one car for the following six races, as a result of a dispute with tyre suppliers. Teo Fabi had taken a pole position for Toleman at the German Grand Prix, however the team would score no points during the season, with poor reliability causing a Toleman car to see the chequered flag only twice out of 20 total entries. Benetton Formula Ltd. was formed at the end of 1985 when the Toleman team was sold to the Benetton family.





* Michael Schumacher

* Johhny Herbert

* Gerhard Berger

* Thierry Boutsen

* Alessandro Nannini

* Emmanuele Pirro

* Nelson Piquet

* Martin Brundle

* Riccardo Patrese

* Jos Verstappen

* JJ Lehto

* Jean Alessi

* Giancharlo Fisichella

* Jenson Button


* Ford / Cosworth

* Renault 

* Mecachrome


Now home to the Renault Motorsport F1 Headquarters, prior to being home to Lotus F1

For all Your Benetton Formula1™ Models, Teamwear and artwork check out here

bottom of page